August: Re-Igniting Liturgical Ministries

Liturgical Ministry Re-activation Update

In its July 17 meeting, the St. Joseph Parish Pastoral Council set Sunday, September 12 as the date to re-activate and celebrate the formal return of our liturgical ministers (lectors, extraordinary ministers of Holy Communion, family altar servers and hospitality ministers).

Our process from now to then includes three mandatory steps:

  • (Mandatory): For all former and aspiring ministers: application to a ministry via the parish website: https://www.dreamsofstjoseph.org/liturgy-and-sacraments/liturgical-ministries/   There you will find six available ministries — lector, extraordinary minister of Holy Communion, hospitality minister, family altar server, environment assistant or music minister.
  • (Optional): A Parish Ministry Information Fair: Saturday, August 7 at 6pm; Sunday, August 8 at 10am, in the church, for those with questions about a ministry.  Application can be made at this time.
  • (Mandatory) Conversations between prospective ministers and parish pastoral team members.  Pastoral team members will reach out to prospective ministers between the time of the Information Fair and the Training Sessions in late August.
  • (Mandatory) Individual ministry TRAINING SESSIONS to be held in late August, as follows (choose only ONE of the three available sessions):

EXTRAORDINARY MINISTERS OF HOLY COMMUNION: Wednesday, August 25 at 7:30pm OR Saturday, Aug. 28 (6pm) OR Sunday, Aug. 29 (10:30am)

LECTORS:  Saturday, Aug. 21 (6pm) OR Sunday, Aug. 22 (9:30am) OR Tuesday, Aug. 24 (7:30pm)

HOSPITALITY MINISTERS: Sunday, Aug. 22  (10:30am) OR Sunday, August 29 (9:00am) OR Monday, Aug. 30 (7:30pm)

All public sessions will be bilingual, so all ministers are formed in the same manner.   Applicants for the other ministries will be trained separately.

Sign up for our email newsletter!